Twitter has launched a feature that lets users remove followers without blocking them. The company now allows users to better control who follows their accounts without taking extreme measures or perhaps attracting unwelcome attention. All users will now have access to this new feature, which Twitter began testing last month.
The new feature called soft block is available on the web and allows users to quietly remove followers. A follower who is removed from an account will not be notified, but they may notice that tweets from this specific account are no longer appearing in their news feed.
This removal allows them to continue reading your tweets, but they will have to visit your account or re-follow it each time. You can find the new soft block feature in the same menu where you can block or mute an account.