Apple's My Photo Stream service will permanently close its doors on July 26, 2023, which means that users who still use it will have to transfer their photos to iCloud Photos before the deadline.
My Photo Stream is a free Apple service that automatically uploads photos (up to 1000) from the last 30 days to iCloud to be available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac and PC. Essentially, it was the precursor to iCloud Photos and has now been replaced by the latter for several years.
The company wants to permanently disengage from the outdated service and turn all users of its devices to iCloud Photos, so it will stop automatically uploading photos on June 26, 2023 (that's one month earlier than the shutdown), and provides detailed instructions on how to transfer them to iCloud Photos.
Because all My Photo Stream images are stored in their original format on at least one Apple device, there's no risk of them being lost due to the service's closure. However, the company recommends users to download My Photo Stream photos back into the library of their device where it is enabled before July 26, 2023.
To do this, all you need to do is go to the Photos app on your iPhone, iPad or Mac, open the My Photo Stream folder in Albums and select the Share button to save your photos to the Library.