Help & Support

Type a question or go through the categories

Everything you need to know about eSIM

What is an eSIM?

eSIM («e» for embedded) is a new type of SIM card which is embedded in an eSIM compatible device (e.g. mobile phone, tablet, smartwatch etc).  With eSIM there’s no physical SIM card that you need to insert. Initially, it is blank and there is no registered data to access the network

How can I get an eSIM?

To get a new eSIM or to replace your existing SIM card, you can visit MyPrimetel selfcare. Login or register your account and then go to "Mobile" from "My Services".

Click on eSIM services to initiate the online process. Note that to switch you need to be the owner of the number and to have the two factor authentication enabled.

You can also replace your card with an eSIM by scheduling an appointment through Zoom at the Primetel Virtual Shop or by visiting one of the Primetel stores.

Which devices are eSIM compatible?


iPhone XR
iPhone XS
iPhone XS Max
iPhone 11
iPhone 11 Pro
iPhone 11 Pro Max
iPhone SE (2020)
iPhone 12 Mini
iPhone 12
iPhone 12 Pro
iPhone 12 Pro Max
iPhone 13 mini
iPhone 13
iPhone 13 Pro
iPhone 13 Pro Max
iPhone SE (2022)
iPhone 14
iPhone 14 Plus
iPhone 14 Pro
iPhone 14 Pro Max
iPad Pro (2018 and onwards)
iPad Air


Samsung Galaxy S23*
Samsung Galaxy S22 Ultra 5G
Samsung Galaxy S22+ 5G
Samsung Galaxy S22 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21+ 5G
Samsung Galaxy S20
Samsung Galaxy S20+
Samsung Galaxy Note 20+
Samsung Galaxy Note 20
Samsung Galaxy Note 20 Ultra
Samsung Galaxy Fold
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 3 5G
Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 2


Huawei P40
Huawei P40 Pro*
Huawei Mate 40 Pro

Can I keep more than one eSIM in my device?

Every device can hold more than one eSIM profile. The number of eSIM profiles that you can download depends on your device, but you can only use one eSIM profile at a time.

Can I transfer an eSIM from one device to another?

Transferring an eSIM from one device to another or installing, deleting and reinstalling is not supported.  If you want to reinstall an eSIM profile, you’ll need to visit a Primetel shop in order to get the QR code needed for activation. Restoring a deleted profile is not possible.

Can I keep my old physical SIM card as back up?

After activating an eSIM, your old SIM card will be automatically deactivated.

eSIM and Roaming

No need to worry as your eSIM will work as normal when you are abroad!

eSIM is not available in the following countries: 
Areas of the Republic of Cyprus not under the effective control of the Government, Turkey, Japan, Gabon, Chile, Andorra, Republic of the Congo, Bhutan, Central African Republic, Ecuador, Fiji, Nauru, Guam, Guinea Bissau, Mauritania, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, South Sudan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Mayotte.